What Constitutes a DUI in Florida?

If you have actually been apprehended and charged with a DUI in Riverside Mobile Home Park, FL, you are probably going to need an attorney. Smith & Eulo DUI attorneys focus on DUI law and our group is here to assist you when needed. Since Florida is a tourist state, we see more than our fair share of DUI arrests. If you live here in Florida or are passing through, it is sensible to understand the regional DUI laws. For instance, what constitutes a DUI in Florida?

  • If the motorist of the vehicle has a blood alcohol material of.08 percent or more, she or he is considered to be driving under the influence
  • Additionally, motorists using chemical substances, prohibited illegal drugs, and/or prescription drugs (such as Oxycodone) can likewise be considered under the influence if stopped.

DUI Lawyers Orlando

 

DUI Penalties in Florida

DUI fines and charges in Florida are serious and if there are aggravating situations, things get substantially worse for anyone founded guilty. For instance, a license suspension goes from as much as one year to a mandatory 5 years if the second DUI is within 5 years of the prior arrest. Here is a total rundown of the present Florida DUI fines and charges:

First Offense

  • Up to 9 months in prison
  • Fines ranging from $500 to $1,000.
  • 180 to 365-day license suspension.
  • Possible six-month ignition interlock device (IID).
  • 50 hours of community service (can elect to pay fine in lieu of hours served).
  • Vehicle seized for 10 days.

Second Offense.

  • Up to 9 months in prison.
  • Fines ranging from $1,000 to $2,000.
  • 180 to 365-day license suspension.
  • Two-year obligatory IID.
  • If the conviction is within 5 years of prior DUI, obligatory 10 days jail time and 30-day vehicle impoundment.
  • If the conviction is within 5 years of prior DUI, license revoked for 5 years.

3rd Offense.

  • Up to one year in jail.
  • Fines ranging from $2,000 to $5,0000.
  • 180 to 365-day license suspension.
  • Two-year obligatory IID.
  • If the conviction is within ten years or prior DUI, obligatory 30-day minimum in jail and 30-day vehicle impoundment.
  • If the conviction is within ten years or prior DUI, obligatory license revocation for ten years.

 

Do You Need a Lawyer for First Time DUI?

Darryl R. Smith, Esq. - DUI Lawyer

In many cases, a novice DUI in Florida is treated as a misdemeanor with minimal charges handed out. Nevertheless, the exception to this is when there are reducing elements to the arrest, such as an exceptionally high BAC, witnesses pointing out erratic driving, possible mistake on the BAC reading, and/or a failed field sobriety test.

Facing these charges alone is dangerous in any case, so it may be best to work with a DUI Lawyer in Riverside Mobile Home Parkto assist safeguard your case and ensure you get minimal charges or potentially even have the case dismissed.

 

How Much Does It Cost to Hire a DUI Lawyer in Riverside Mobile Home Park, FL?

If you are looking for a DUI legal representative, Riverside Mobile Home Park attorneys all charge in a different way. Some will charge by the hour while others will charge a flat charge for their services. At Smith & Eulo Law Practice, your initial assessment is free of charge, so you do not have any monetary risk for our group to access the case. Once we have all your information, such as the authorities reports and your declaration, we will be able to offer you a better quote as to what your defense will cost.

Can You Get a DUI Dropped?Ken Eulo, Esq. - DUI Lawyer

If apprehended for a DUI in Riverside Mobile Home Park, there are various reasons the case may be dropped. For instance, perhaps the breathalyzer specialist did not follow specific procedures when performing the test. This is just one of lots of reasons that could lead to the charges being dismissed outright.

There may likewise be a circumstance where the DUI itself is not dropped however pleading out to lower charges is possible. Sometimes, this can assist avoid excessive fines, charges, and jail time as long as there are no more arrests during a court-specified time.

If there are exacerbated situations, a plea offer is more than most likely not going to be offered. By exacerbated situations, we indicate a BAC of.15 or higher, an accident and/or injury related to the DUI, or the presence of a kid in the cars and truck.

It ought to be kept in mind, both fines and possible jail time, in addition to charges, are significantly increased when these types of situations exist.

What Can a DUI Lawyer in Riverside Mobile Home Park, FL Do for a DUI Case?

If you are charged with a DUI, you will need to choose if you want to be represented by a public protector or a personal attorney. The majority of public attorneys in Florida are excellent attorneys, however the disadvantage is they have exceptionally heavy caseloads. Point being, you may not get the one-on-one time needed to properly safeguard the case. Something else to consider is that when you utilize a public protector, you have no say in the attorney appointed to your case.

As mentioned above, your initial assessment with Smith & Eulo is free, so there is no risk to have actually the case evaluated. Additionally, there are various benefits in having hired a personal attorney.

The majority of public protectors are considered jack-of-all-trades attorneys. They will generally have a vast array of clients at any offered time. Point being, while they are fully versed in the laws, they do not focus on any one specific location, something of which most private attorneys do. Sometimes, a Riverside Mobile Home Park DUI attorney will capture something minor that may have been missed by a public protector. While minor, however, it could be the distinction in having the case dismissed and facing the maximum charges enabled.

If you have a busy schedule, a DUI legal representative in Riverside Mobile Home Park is a far much better option. Typically, with a public protector, you will need to make every appearance, which probably indicates missed time at work. With a personal attorney, however, you need not be present all the time, as the attorney can represent you for a few of these preliminary hearings.

If you are dead set on taking the case to trial, you will absolutely need to have a certified DUI attorney defending you. The only other option is to safeguard yourself and as Abraham Lincoln when stated, “he who represents himself has a fool for a client”.

Being apprehended for a DUI in Riverside Mobile Home Park is stressful enough, don’t add to that stress by attempting to learn the legal waters by yourself. Smith & Eulo has a full group of a Riverside Mobile Home Park DUI attorneys waiting to assist. Complete our contact form and a member of our group will touch with you ASAP to discuss your case.