What Constitutes a DUI in Florida?

If you have actually been detained and charged with a DUI in Rockledge, FL, you are probably going to require a lawyer. Smith & Eulo DUI lawyers specialize in DUI law and our group is here to help you when needed. Since Florida is a tourist state, we see more than our fair share of DUI arrests. If you live here in Florida or are passing through, it is prudent to comprehend the local DUI laws. For example, what makes up a DUI in Florida?

  • If the driver of the automobile has a blood alcohol content of.08 percent or more, he or she is considered to be driving under the influence
  • Furthermore, drivers utilizing chemical compounds, unlawful controlled substances, and/or prescription drugs (such as Oxycodone) can also be thought about under the influence if stopped.

DUI Lawyers Orlando


DUI Penalties in Florida

DUI fines and charges in Florida are extreme and if there are exacerbating scenarios, things get significantly even worse for anyone convicted. For example, a license suspension goes from as much as one year to a compulsory five years if the 2nd DUI is within five years of the previous arrest. Here is a complete rundown of the current Florida DUI fines and charges:

First Offense

  • As much as nine months in prison
  • Fines varying from $500 to $1,000.
  • 180 to 365-day license suspension.
  • Possible six-month ignition interlock device (IID).
  • 50 hours of social work (can elect to pay fine in lieu of hours served).
  • Car took for 10 days.

2nd Offense.

  • As much as nine months in prison.
  • Fines varying from $1,000 to $2,000.
  • 180 to 365-day license suspension.
  • Two-year necessary IID.
  • If the conviction is within five years of previous DUI, necessary 10 days jail time and 30-day automobile impoundment.
  • If the conviction is within five years of previous DUI, license revoked for five years.

3rd Offense.

  • As much as one year in jail.
  • Fines varying from $2,000 to $5,0000.
  • 180 to 365-day license suspension.
  • Two-year necessary IID.
  • If the conviction is within ten years or prior DUI, necessary 30-day minimum in jail and 30-day automobile impoundment.
  • If the conviction is within ten years or prior DUI, necessary license revocation for ten years.


Do You Need a Lawyer for First Time DUI?

Darryl R. Smith, Esq. - DUI Lawyer

If there are no aggravating scenarios, there is an excellent opportunity the case will be treated as a misdemeanor and you will only face very little fines and charges. If that holds true, you might select to take the plea and not utilize a lawyer. However, if there were exacerbating scenarios, such as a child in the car, you will absolutely require a lawyer to defend you.

In either case, facing a DUI by yourself is a dangerous relocation, so it might be best to employ a DUI Attorney in Rockledge to guarantee very little fines or potentially even having the case dismissed outright.


How Much Does It Cost to Hire a DUI Lawyer in Rockledge, FL?

If you are searching for a DUI attorney, Rockledge lawyers all charge differently. Some will charge by the hour while others will charge a flat fee for their services. At Smith & Eulo Law Practice, your preliminary consultation is complimentary of charge, so you do not have any monetary risk for our group to access the case. As soon as we have all your info, such as the cops reports and your declaration, we will be able to give you a much better price quote regarding what your defense will cost.

Can You Get a DUI Dropped?Ken Eulo, Esq. - DUI Lawyer

If detained for a DUI in Rockledge, there are various reasons that the case might be dropped. For example, possibly the breathalyzer professional did not follow particular procedures when performing the test. This is just among lots of reasons that could result in the charges being dismissed outright.

In a lot of cases, particularly first-time offenses with no aggravating scenarios, a plea offer can be reached rather rapidly. This assists you prevent extreme charges and fines. In this case, there might, nevertheless, be a terms that no further DUI arrest takes place within a specific timespan as mandated by the court.

If, nevertheless, there were aggravated scenarios, there is little chance a plea bargain or the dropping of charges will happen. By aggravated scenarios, we imply a child being in the car, a BAC of.15 or greater, or injuries occurred related to the DUI.

In the state of Florida, both jail sentences and fines increase significantly in addition to potentially being necessary when aggravated scenarios are in play.

What Can a DUI Lawyer in Rockledge, FL Do for a DUI Case?

First and foremost, you require to decide if you want to employ a RockledgeDUI lawyer or work with a public protector (if you certify). While the public protectors here in Florida are excellent lawyers, they also have significant caseloads. Point being, your case might not constantly get the attention it should have. Furthermore, you do not get to pick your public protector, as the court decides who is designated the case.

As specified above, your preliminary consultation with Smith & Eulo is complimentary, so there is no risk to have actually the case examined. Furthermore, there are various benefits in having actually employed a personal lawyer.

While a public protector is an all-around lawyer out of need, a legal firm will have RockledgeDUI lawyers concentrating on this type of law. To put it simply, customers can feel confident their RockledgeDUI attorney is a real specialist in this specific niche of law. In cases where a public protector might ask you to plead, a personal lawyer might see an opportunity to go to trial and have the charges entirely dismissed.

For people with demanding schedules, a personal lawyer can conserve considerable time in the court. With a public protector, you are normally required to be in court throughout every look. A personal lawyer, nevertheless, can represent you on some occasions without you being physically present in the courtroom.

Something else to think about is that if you do want to take the case to trial, you will require a lawyer to do so. The adage “he who represents himself has a fool for a client” has actually never been truer when it comes to DUI cases.

Being detained for a DUI in Rockledge is difficult enough, do not contribute to that tension by trying to wade through the legal waters by yourself. Smith & Eulo has a complete group of a Rockledge DUI lawyers waiting to help. Submit our contact form and a member of our group will be in contact with you ASAP to discuss your case.