100+ Years of experience
Defense Lawyers Serving
The Tampa Bay Area
We have one of the few Board Certified Criminal Trial Lawyers in the state of Florida.
Criminal Defense Lawyer
Are you facing criminal charges in Tampa, Florida? Our criminal defense lawyers at Smith & Eulo can guide you through the deliberately complicated and confusing criminal justice system so you come out on top. We’ll help mitigate the long-term consequences of any criminal charges so can you avoid any future difficulties with housing, job applications, child custody, or loans.
Charged With a Crime in Tampa, FL?
When it comes to navigating the criminal justice system in Tampa, Florida, there’s no one better to turn to than the Tampa Bay criminal lawyers from Smith & Eulo. We’ll help you understand your case, and how we’ll strategize against a conviction. We’ll handle gathering all the evidence from your prosecutor , any witness statements, important documents, and police reports that could be pertinent to your charges. Most importantly: we’ll listen to your side of the story.
Contact Us Today!
What happens after I’ve been charged with a crime in Tampa, FL?
If you’ve been arrested or served a notice to appear in court, you need to know what’s coming next. It can be intimidating to step into any court room alone or undergo criminal processes without representation. Smith & Eulo Law Firm: Tampa Criminal Defense Lawyers have a combined 20+ years of experience defending our clients against any number of criminal charges, including the following:
Being charged with a DUI in Tampa can lead to serious consequences, especially if it’s not your first charge. Penalties include:
- $2,000 in fines
- A lifetime license revocation
- 5 years in prison
- A third degree felony charge
- 90 day vehicle impoundment
Violation of Probation
Assault & battery are charged as two different crimes in Florida. Assault is a physical or verbal action that causes fear or harm. Battery is any unwanted touch that causes harm. Any charges of Assault or battery will result in heightened penalties if a deadly weapon is involved.
The degrees of Assault & Battery are:
- Simple assault (misdemeanor charge)
- Aggravated Assault (felony charge)
- Simple battery (misdemeanor charge)
- Felony battery (felony charge)
- Aggravated battery (felony charge)
The penalties for drug crimes in Tampa will vary depending on the class of drug, intent to use or distribute, and the amount of drug you were in possession of
Common drug charges in Florida + penalties:
- Possession of marijuana under 20 grams- misdemeanor with up to 1 year imprisonment and a $1000 fine
- Possession of marijuana between 20 grams and 25 pounds (intent to sell): Felony with up to 5 years imprisonment and a $5000 fine
- Possession of marijuana over 25 pounds: Possession of over 25 pounds can be considered trafficking, a felony charge with a maximum sentence of 30 years imprisonment.
- Cocaine possession under 28 grams (with no intent to distribute) – Third degree felony with a maximum sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a $5000 fine.
- Cocaine possession under 28 grams (with intent to distribute) – Second degree felony with a maximum sentence of 15 years imprisonment and a $10000 fine.
- Cocaine possession over 28 grams – Felony trafficking charge with sentences from 3 years to life imprisonment, and $50,000-$250,000 in fines (depending on amount).
You can be charged with technical or substantive probation violations in Florida.
Technical violations occur when an individual violates one of the terms of their probation, such as:
- Failing a drug test
- Failure to pay court fees
- Failure to appear at a mandatory probation meeting
- Failure to complete court-ordered rehabilitation
Substantive violations occur when a person commits a new crime while on the term of their probation and normally results in a probation revocation and new charges being added
In Florida, juvenile crimes are up to a judge’s discretion–there are no juries involved. When a child is arrested they may either be placed in a detention center or in their parents care.
In a juvie case, the judge will determine a probation period or one of four commitments in a juvie program:
- Low risk programs: 30-45 days
- Moderate-risk programs: 4-6 months
- High-risk programs: 6-9 months
- Juvenile prison: 18-36 month
While juvenile cases are designed to rehab minors, it can still leave a mark on your permanent record.
Burglary constitutes a felony offense in Florida and penalties are handed out according to the degree of your burglary charge.
You’ve committed an act of burglary if you were caught:
- Entering or remaining in a residential or commercial structure, vehicle, or any other premises with the intention of committing an offense.
- Entering premises that are not open to the public, without having an invitation or license and, perhaps, carrying a weapon
Typical charges and the possible sentences include:
- First degree combined with assault – Life imprisonment or maximum prison term of 30 years and a $10,000 fine.
- Second degree – Maximum of 15 years’ imprisonment and a $10,000 fine.
- Third degree – Maximum of 5 years’ imprisonment and $5,000 fine.
Record expungement or sealing is the process of getting your criminal record released. In Florida, you could qualify for record expungement if:
- You were arrested but no charges were filed and no court proceedings occurred
- Your conviction was dismissed or ruled nolle prosequi (your charges were abandoned) by the state attorney or prosecutor
- Your conviction was dismissed by a court or you were acquitted by a judge
- You were not adjudicated guilty by a judge or jury
- You have no other petitions for different criminal records, pending or completed (with the exception of an arrest record that’s already been sealed for 10 years)
- You’re not seeking to erase a felony or a serious misdemeanor. This includes assault, battery, unlawful possession of a firearm, indecent exposure, arson, child neglect, animal cruelty, and more.
There are several other qualifiers that need to be met to petition for record expungement in Florida. Contact Smith & Eulo today to see if you could have your record cleared.
What to Expect in Your Criminal Case
Even if you’ve had experience in the criminal justice system before, being charged with a crime can be a scary and new experience. We love nothing more than helping people get their lives back and defending them as aggressively as possible. No matter the severity or nature of your crime, we do not judge, we listen. Call today for a free consultation.
Choosing a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Before you hire a lawyer, it’s best to meet with multiple attorneys to see if they understand your case, what their fees are, what experience they have, and how they communicate. Remember to not only listen to what they have to say, but don’t ignore your gut as well. If you think an attorney doesn’t have your best interest at heart, don’t be afraid to walk away. Many law firms offer free consultations, so we encourage people to shop around.
Hiring a Criminal Defense Attorney
The first step in the process of defending your criminal charges is to contact a criminal defense attorney. Most lawyers offer a free initial consultation to give you an idea of what it will take to defend your case, including our team at Smith & Eulo. You can schedule your free consultation with us. We’re open 24/7.
Arriving at Court
Your case in Tampa will most likely be heard at the Hillsborough County Courthouse. Be sure you arrive early, you’re dressed appropriately and you have a reliable defense attorney by your side.
Branch Manager: Marie Taylor, ESQ
Tampa, FL Office
Our Tampa office is centrally located in the heart of downtown Tampa. You can find us at 400 N Ashley Dr, Suite 2600-#2636, Tampa, FL 33602. Contact us on our site or call 813-359-8667 to schedule your appointment.