Knowing driving with a suspended license could bring detrimental consequences to your everyday life such as probation or jail time. If you decide to drive without a valid license in Jacksonville, FL, you could be charged with a misdemeanor or felony crime.
According to section 322.34, In the State of Florida, the “element” of knowledge is satisfied if the person has been previously cited, or if the person admits to knowing about the cancellation, suspension, or revocation of their Florida driver’s license.
Driving a motor vehicle is a huge responsibility that should never be taken lightly; following traffic rules is imperative to avoid a driver’s license suspension. If your license has been revoked, canceled, or suspended and you decide to drive, this could put you under the habitual traffic offender category.
If you need legal representation in the Jacksonville, FL area, you should schedule a free consultation with Smith & Eulo Law Firm, our lawyers specialize in all types of criminal traffic cases, with a combined experience of over 100 years, handling all types of criminal traffic cases.
What happens if you get caught driving with a suspended license in Florida?
As mentioned above, it depends on whether you got behind the wheel knowing your driver’s license was suspended. If the state can prove that you had knowledge of the driver’s license suspension, you could face serious consequences like being charged with committing a second-degree misdemeanor, which could give you a sentence of a to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. You could also get charged with a first-degree misdemeanor, which could give you a sentence of up to a year in jail and a $1,000 fine.
What if your license was suspended without your knowledge?
In this situation you more than likely will not have to worry about facing any criminal consequences, driving with a suspended license unknowingly is considered a civil offense and won’t require you to hire a lawyer, however, you may be charged a $500 fine. That said, you need to resolve your situation immediately and ensure you have a valid driver’s license.
It is important to note you have 30 days to respond to a citation, not doing so will result in the suspension of your Florida driver’s license, and if you get caught driving with a suspended license, you could face serious consequences, as listed above.
You can contact the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, or the Duval County Criminal and Traffic Clerk of the Court to request a copy of your driving record and/or check the status of your criminal or civil traffic record.
If you need assistance reinstating your driver’s license, you can contact the Duval County Clerk of the Court. You will need to pay a fee of $60 to reinstate your license, as well as the amount due for the civil infraction and the delinquent fee. If there are other reasons for the driver’s license suspension, you may need to go to a Tax Collector’s office to reinstate it.
If you or your loved one find themselves in a situation where you are being accused of driving with a suspended license? Call us right away at 904-714-4405 to speak with a qualified legal professional or fill out the contact form on this page. We’re available 24/7, we offer free initial consultation and payment plans. In addition to our Jacksonville office, we have offices in the following cities across the state of Florida:
*Additional Orlando Florida & Orange County Legal Resources