You could face serious penalties if charged with driving with a suspended license in Florida. A conviction for driving with a suspended license can result in a fine, jail time, and an extension of the suspension period. Speak with an experienced defense lawyer who can help you fight the charges and protect your rights.
Smith & Eulo’s skilled criminal defense attorneys have a demonstrated track record of success defending clients accused of driving with a suspended license. We realize the significant repercussions you face and will fight relentlessly to seek the best possible outcome in your case. Call us at 754-332-0513 or fill out our online form to get started.
How can my driver’s license be suspended in Fort Lauderdale, Florida?
There are several ways authorities suspend your driver’s license in Florida. The most common reason for a suspension is failing to pay a traffic ticket. Other grounds for a suspension can include:
- DUI conviction
- Refusal to submit to a breath or blood test
- Driving without insurance
- Certain drug convictions
- Failure to appear in court
- Failure to pay child support
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will notify you if you have a suspended license. The notice will include the reason and length for the suspension.
What are the penalties for driving with a suspended license in Fort Lauderdale, FL?
The penalties for driving with a suspended license in Florida vary depending on the reason for the suspension. For most suspensions, the penalty is a fine of $500 and up to 60 days in jail. However, the penalties are much more severe if your license is suspended for DUI or refusal to submit to a breath or blood test.
When a suspended license is due to DUI, you might face a $1,000 fine and up to a year in jail. Moreover, if your license is suspended for refusing to take a breath or blood test, you might face a $2,500 fine and up to 18 months in prison.
In addition to the criminal penalties, you will also face an extension of your license suspension if convicted of driving with a suspended license. For most suspensions, the length will be doubled. If due to DUI, the suspension will be tripled.
How can I reinstate my Florida driver’s license?
You will need to take specific steps to have your license reinstated.
- The first step is to pay any outstanding fines or fees, typically $60-$75, and provide proof of insurance.
- You will also need to complete required courses or programs, such as drug treatment or DUI school.
- Once you have completed all the requirements, you must submit a reinstatement form to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
Speaking with an experienced driver with a suspended license defense attorney in Fort Lauderdale who can help you navigate reinstating your license is essential. At Smith & Eulo, our experienced criminal defense lawyers can help you drive on the road again.
Possible defenses against driving with a suspended license charge in Fort Lauderdale
Some possible defenses to driving with a suspended license charge in Fort Lauderdale include:
- The traffic stop was unlawful: If the police officer did not have a valid reason to pull you over, any evidence obtained from the stop might be suppressed.
- Authorities did not properly notify about the suspension: For a conviction to stand, the prosecution must prove police officers notified you of the suspension. The charges may be dismissed if the notice was sent to the wrong address or you never received it.
- The suspension was improper: The charges may be dismissed if your license was suspended for a reason not allowed by Florida law. For example, if the suspension of your license is due to failure to pay a fine you were unaware of, the charges may be dismissed.
Contact a Fort Lauderdale driving with a suspended license defense lawyer at Smith & Eulo
Being charged with driving with a suspended license in Florida is a serious offense. If you are convicted, you face steep fines and the possibility of jail time. You will also have a criminal record that can impact your life in many ways.
At Smith & Eulo, we have more than 100 years of experience defending clients against traffic offenses, including driving with a suspended license. We know what it takes to build a strong defense and will work tirelessly to protect your rights.
If you or your loved one find themselves in a situation where you are being accused of driving with a suspended license? Call us right away at 754-332-0513 to speak with a qualified legal professional or fill out the contact form on this page. We’re available 24/7, we offer free initial consultation and payment plans. In addition to our Fort Lauderdale office, we have offices in the following cities across the state of Florida:
*Additional Orlando Florida & Orange County Legal Resources