In the state of Florida “burglary” is considered a felony and is punishable as such. If you or your loved one are being charged with burglary in Sanford, FL, or Seminole County, you should contact us now. Our Criminal Defense Attorneys have over 100 years of combined experience successfully litigating criminal cases in Seminole County and across the state of Florida.
What constitutes Burglary?
Burglary in the state of Florida means entering or remaining in a residence, place of business, or structure with the intention to commit an offense, unless the business is open to the public or the person in question is invited or licensed to enter or remain. If the person remains in the residence, place of business, or structure without the proper authorization, with the intent to commit an offense, that’s also considered burglary.
What is the minimum Sentence for Burglary in Florida?
Sentencing for Burglary in Florida depends on what else happened while committing the burglary.
Burglary is a first-degree felony when: While committing the offense, the offender commits assault or battery upon another person or becomes armed within the residence, place of business, or structure with explosives or a dangerous weapon. It is also considered a first-degree burglary if a moving vehicle is used for more than just a getaway vehicle, meaning it is used to assist in committing the crime and damaging the dwelling.
Burglary is a second-degree felony when: There is another person in the residence, place of business, or structure at the time of committing the offense, but the offender does not commit assault or battery upon another person, it doesn’t become armed with dangerous weapons, including explosives and they do not use a vehicle to a tool to execute the offense.
Burglary is a third-degree felony when: The offender does not commit battery or assault on another person, does not become armed with dangerous weapons during the act (including a moving vehicle) and there is NOT another person in the residence, place of business or structure at the time of committing the offense.
What are the punishments for Burglary?
It all depends on the degree of the offense, in the state of Florida, felonies are punished as follows:
- Imprisonment could be up-to 30 years
- Imprisonment could be up-to 15 years
- Imprisonment could be up-to 5 years
There are many other intricacies that exist while dealing with and navigating the judicial system in the state of Florida. Give us a call today to talk to one of our criminal defense lawyers about your specific situation. We will listen to the facts of your story and work with you to craft the best defense and plan of action moving forward. Our initial consultation is free.
If you or your loved one find themselves in a situation where you are being accused of burglary? Call us right away at 689-209-0400 to speak with a qualified legal professional or fill out the contact form on this page. We’re available 24/7, we offer free initial consultation and payment plans. In addition to our Sanford office, we have offices in the following cities across the state of Florida:
*Additional Orlando Florida & Orange County Legal Resources